Ye Be Warned Wednesday: Fast & Furious 6

No, this isn’t the one that just came out, somehow that newest one is the SEVENTH Fast and the Furious movie, who knew that seven movies could be made about Vin Diesel and co looking sullen and blowing shit up.

Fast and the Furious 6 came out in 2013 and happened to be on TV last night, so i thought, why not! I haven’t seen any since the second one so I will give this one a try and see if they have improved on the formula at all over the past decade.

The answer, well… rather than be about a bunch of small time criminals boosting DVDs players, this one follows the “crew” taking down a group of mercenary terrorists in Europe. Mmmhmm you read that right. You see, Hobbs (Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson) is a military dude who for some reason that makes zero to little sense asks Brian (Paul Walker RIP) and Dominic (Vin Diesel) to help him catch the bad guy.

Hair is for the weak.

                  Hair is for the weak.

Having not seen the ones in between the AWFUL “2 Fast 2 Furious” and this, I can’t exactly explain why the military would want the help of a bunch of bozo car enthusiasts to stop this evil mercenary from getting a “list” which can cause the death of millions, but hey, I may just be too logical. Go into this prepared to stretch your logic as far as you can, you may want to down a few beers first.

Highlights include, the most ridiculous and unrealistic yet somehow extremely satisfying stunts and action sequences you have ever seen. My favourite was a car chase where the bad guy was in a TANK on a French highway, maximum carnage, no sense. Also the final climactic scene had some very impressive explosions, falls and punches to the face. I would say 10% in total of this movie is dialogue, the rest is pure violent mayhem.

I'm flying Jack!

                    I’m flying Jack!

Honestly, I was surprised by how little I hated this movie. It is BY FAR not great, but if you need a simple, easy to follow action movie where all you want to see is a bunch of bald badasses jump out of things, hurt people, explode shit or say punchy one liners then you might enjoy this movie!

BUT if you want an actually tense, complicated and more thought out movie to satisfy your blood lust, this aint gonna do it. May I recommend the latest James Bond “Spectre”  for those who want some semblance of a story line to follow.

ALL IN ALL, this movie was dumb, but I am not ashamed to admit that there was a small part of me that secret loved it for what it was, they weren’t trying to be anything other than insane, and I give them the respect they deserve for cramming as many ridiculous stunts in there as possible.

SO YE HAVE BEEN WARNED but… just quietly…. it was kind of awesome, if only for the lols.

2 comments

  1. I don’t know about anyone else, but whenever I see something that defies physics placed on film, I begin laughing. I don’t know why I do that, I just do. That tank sequence, I was laughing. Awesome scene, though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

